A Personal Service in the supply of books in schools
Basket 0
Silver Stars

Silver Stars

£7.99

The second novel in the epic new young adult series that Michael Grant is calling his best yet! It's WWII but not as you know it from school. This time the girls are on the Front Lines and not on the Home Front. Summer 1943.

The enemy has been bloodied, but Nazi Germany is very far from beaten. Now the American army is moving on to their next target: the Italian island of Sicily. With heavy memories of combat, the three young soldier girls - Rio, Frangie and Rainy - now know what they are willing to do to save themselves, and understand the consequences of those actions.

On the front lines, they will again come face to face with the brutality of war until they win or die, while simultaneously fighting their own personal battles. No one will emerge unscathed. In the tradition of The Book Thief, Code Name Verity and Between Shades of Gray, Front Lines gives the experience of WWII a new immediacy while playing with the 'what ifs?' of history.

Exclusive Front Lines story, Dead of Night to be 2017 World Book Day book. Praise for Front Lines: "What if American women had fought alongside men in World War II?Michael Grant gives us a magnificent alternate history that feels so real and right and true it seems impossible that it wasn't. Every one of these fictional soldiers has wrapped herself around my heart." (Elizabeth Wein, award-winning and New York Times bestselling author of Code Name Verity).

"Michael Grant is a master of twists that not only tear at his readers' consciences, they

hold a mirror up to our here and now and insist we consider what might otherwise be. Front Lines is a masterpiece of speculative story crafting." (Andrew Smith, Printz Honor winning author of Grasshopper Jungle). Front Lines was shortlisted for Feminist Book of the Year in the Maximum Pop Bookish Awards.

Publisher: Egmont

By Michael Grant

ISBN :9781405273855

Paperback

Key Stage 3

February 2017

 

 

 

 


Share this Product


More from new-fiction-titles